Public Issues Calendar 2020

 
  Public Issues Calendar 2020  updated 06/12/2019


http://www.jointpublicissues.org.uk/  Although we make every effort to ensure these links are accurate, up to date and relevant, JPIT cannot take responsibility for the content of these websites, which may not necessarily reflect the views of JPIT.

Inclusion in this calendar is not an indication of endorsement. 
18–25 January Week of Prayer for Christian Unity  ctbi.org.uk/weekofprayer
20 January  Martin Luther King Jr Day (holiday in USA) 
27 January  Holocaust Memorial Day www.hmd.org.uk/ 
26 January  World Leprosy Day  www.leprosymission.org.uk
9 February Racial Justice Sunday (25th Anniversary) https://ctbi.org.uk
20 February World Day of Social Justice www.un.org/en/events/socialjustice day/
23 February  Church Action on Poverty Sunday www.church–poverty.org.uk/sunday
24 Feb–8 Mar Fairtrade Fortnight  www.fairtrade.org.uk/GetInvolved/Events
6 March  World Day of Prayer  www.wdpscotland.org.uk and www.wwdp.org.uk
8 March International Women’s Day  www.internationalwomensday.com
22 March World Water Day http://worldwaterday.org/
25 March UN International Day of Remembrance of Victims of Slavery and Transatlantic Slave Trade 
www.un.org/en/events/slaveryreme mbranceday/
28 April  International Workers’ Memorial Day http://28april.org/
10–16 May  Christian Aid Week www.christianaid.org.uk
2 June  Environment Sunday www.arocha.org.uk
14 June Tax Justice Sunday www.catj.org.uk/tax_justice_sunday .html 
15–21 June  Refugee Week www.refugeeweek.org.uk
18–28 June (tbc) Refugee Festival Scotland  www.scottishrefugeecouncil.org.uk/ 
26 June  International Day in Support of Victims of Torture
www.fiacat.org/en/our-actions/thenetwork-campaigns/night-vigil
23 August UNESCO International Day for Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition 
whc.unesco.org/en/news/2019
1 Sept–4 Oct Creation Time  www.ctbi.org.uk and seasonofcreation.org/
13 September (tbc) Ability Sunday  www.abilitysunday.org.uk/ 
13 September Education Sunday (England and Wales) www.cte.org.uk/Groups/234838/Ho me/Resources/Education_Sunday/E ducation_Sunday.aspx 
13–20 September (tbc) World Week for Peace in Palestine and Israel 
www.worldweekforpeace.org
20 September Freedom Sunday (end Slavery) www.ijmuk.org/freedom-sunday
20 September  Peacemaking Sunday (UN International Day of Peace—21 September)
www.un.org/en/events/peaceday/ and internationaldayofpeace.org/
4–10 October Good Money Week  http://goodmoneyweek.com 
10 October World Homeless Day www.housingjustice.org.uk/ www.worldhomelessday.org/
11–17 October (tbc) Prisons Week (England and Wales)  www.prisonsweek.org
11–18 October (tbc) Week of Prayer for World Peace  www.weekofprayerforworldpeace.c om
18–25 October (tbc) One World Week  www.oneworldweek.org
24 October United Nations Day  www.un.org/en/events/unday
8 November  Remembrance Sunday  www.ctbi.org.uk
8–15 November (tbc) Interfaith Week  www.interfaithweek.org
15 November  World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims 
www.roadpeace.org/remembrance/ remembrance-events/
15 November  International Day of Prayer for Persecuted Christians 
releaseinternational.org/idop/
15–22 November (tbc)  Prisoners’ Week Scotland www.prisonersweek.org.uk
19 November World Toilet Day www.worldtoiletday.info/
25 Nov–10 Dec 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence  16dayscwgl.rutgers.edu/
1 December  World Aids Day  www.worldaidsday.org
10 December  Human Rights Day  www.un.org/en/events/humanrights day/ 
18 December International Migrants Day   www.un.org/en/events/migrantsday/
 
http://www.jointpublicissues.org.uk/  Although we make every effort to ensure these links are accurate, up to date and relevant, JPIT cannot take responsibility for the content of these websites, which may not necessarily reflect the views of JPIT.


Printer Printable Version